E-bike FAQs

Have questions about Electric Bikes? Read on to find answers to our most frequently asked questions. Don't see the answer to your question? Contact us

FAQs About Electric Bicycles

Why ride an E-bike?

For a quick and easy commute! With an E-bike you can ride faster than a conventional bike, avoid traffic by taking bike routes, and then easily park for free close to your destination. Riding uphill or into the wind will no longer be a burden, and you can get where you’re going without breaking a sweat.

An E-bike allows you to take it easy on your joints! Enjoy riding again without straining your knees, hips or ankles.

No need to drive your car! Help improve local air quality and save on vehicle fuel and maintenance costs. E-bikes are a great way to commute as an alternative to a car or public transportation, and with extended range, many riders can go farther than they would typically go on conventional bike.

How fast do E-bikes go?

Most e-bikes will assist up to 20 MPH, although some models allow for pedal assist up to 28 MPH (pedaling + motor). This allows you to get to where you’re going faster without being categorized as a motorized vehicle, which would require license, registration, insurance, and may restrict your ability to ride on paved bike trails. View applicable Utah electric bike laws from Evelo Electric Bikes.

Can you still get a workout on an E-bike?

Yes, and you get to choose when you want a workout. You can also adjust the power assist to suit the level of exercise you desire, so you can get to work or to your meetings without breaking a sweat and then get a workout on the way home! 

How much do E-bikes cost?

There’s a wide range of e-bike pricing. Typically e-bikes start at around $1,000 and go up to $10,000. The average price range is $2,000 to $5,000.

What range do E-bikes have?

Using the maximum assist level, most e-bikes have a range of 20-30 miles. This depends on the terrain, rider weight, and how much the rider is pedaling, as well as the electric assist level used. In fact, some e-bikes support two full-size batteries, which allow for a range of up to 100 miles!

How much do E-bikes weigh?

Generally 45-60 pounds.     

What is the difference between throttle and pedal assist?

Throttle assisted e-bikes propel the bike whether the rider is pedaling or not, while a pedal assist provides extra propulsion only when the rider is pedaling. Many e-bikes come with both options. Test rides are a great way to decide which option you prefer. Please note that U Bike Electric will not be offering throttle-assisted models for safety considerations.

Do E-bike riders need a driver's license, insurance, or registration?

The State of Utah doesn't require a driver’s license, insurance, or registration for e-bikes not exceeding 1,000 watts and a max speed of 20 MPH (motor only), or 28 MPH (motor and pedaling) on a flat surface. Federal law treats e-bikes as conventional bikes, and defines an e-bike as not exceeding 750 watts or 20 MPH. Visit the Utah Public Safety page for applicable bicycle laws.

Can I ride an E-bike on trails?

It depends. Generally, any trail that is open to motorized use is also open to e-bikes. E-bikes are not allowed on some non-motorized trails. When in doubt, consult the rules and regulations for your local trail system.

Can E-bikes be ridden with the electric assist off?

Yes, they can be ridden with the power off. However, for the heavier models a rider should expect significantly more effort required to pedal with the power off.
 

What types of E-bikes exist?

 

 E-bikes span the variety of conventional bikes, from commuter bikes to cargo bikes to fat-tire mountain bikes. Visit our browse bikes page for a full listing of models offered during U Bike Electric.

What maintenance do E-bikes require?

Other than periodically charging your battery, the maintenance is typical of a conventional bike. The battery will eventually have to be replaced after a certain number of charges. A Lithium Ion battery has a lifetime of about 800 charges. Discounted maintenance packages will be available during U Bike Electric 2018, with details coming soon.

May children ride E-bikes?

Under Utah state law individuals under 15 are not allowed to ride an e-bike unless they are under the supervision of a parent or guardian. Utah state law does not allow individuals under the age of 8 to operate an e-bike under any circumstances.  

Whar kind of batteries do E-bikes use?

Most use Lithium Ion batteries, which are lighter than lead acid batteries. Lithium Ion batteries have a lifetime of about 800 full charge cycles before needing to be replaced.

How much power do E-bike batteries provide?

Federal law classifies E-bikes as having batteries up to 750 watts, which equates to 1 horsepower. The state of Utah classifies E-bikes as having batteries up to 1000 watts, and top speed of 20 MPH for both.

How long does it take to charge an E-bike battery?

Typically an e-bike battery can be charged from empty to full in 3-6 hours (depending on battery size) from a standard 110 volt wall outlet.

When should the battery be removed?

 It’s best to remove the battery when charging. If you are transporting the bike on a bike rack then it is recommended that the battery be removed. The battery should also be removed when you are working on the bike to avoid unintentionally damaging the battery. If you are flying with your e-bike you will not be allowed to fly with the battery. In this case you would need to ship the battery to your destination separately. Some e-bike models allow for charging while the battery is still on the bike - consult with your ebike salesperson to learn the best way to charge your e-bike.

Don't see your question here? Contact us!

More in this category: Testimonials